A hearty congratulations to same-sex couples in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin who may now be legally wed due to the Supreme Court’s refusal to hear cases from those states seeking to keep their same-sex marriage bans in place. And an equally hearty thanks to the Supreme Court justices who catapulted those states into the cultural, ethical here-and-now.

What’s more, this ruling may clear the war more similar ruling in other states. According to CNN:
“Experts say its refusal to hear the cases from those five states also means that six more states — Colorado, North Carolina, South Carolina, Kansas, West Virginia, and Wyoming — could soon have to lift their bans on same-sex marriage, because they are covered by the same circuit appeals courts that initially struck down the prohibitions.”

We’re digging into our own graphic archives for this tribute, way back to the summer of 2011, when New York State passed the Marriage Equality Act.

So welcome to the 21st century, Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. We’re happy to have you.